

OHIO CONSTITUTIONAL MODERNIZATION COMMISSION

REVISED MINUTES OF THE CONSTITUTIONAL REVISION AND UPDATING COMMITTEE

FOR THE MEETING HELD THURSDAY, APRIL 10, 2014

Call to Order:

Vice-chair Charles Kurfess called the meeting of the Constitutional Revision and Updating Committee to order at 12:35 p.m.

Members Present:

A quorum was present with Vice-chair Kurfess and committee members Abaray, Asher, Curtin, Obhof, Readler, Sawyer, and Wagoner in attendance.

Approval of Minutes:

The minutes of the previous meeting were approved.

Discussion:

Vice-chair Kurfess recognized Senior Policy Advisor Steven H. Steinglass to present a memorandum on strengthening Ohio's statutory initiative.

Representative Mike Curtin proposed that the committee pursue two paths. He said the first path would seek to encourage the use of the statutory initiative by reducing the geographic requirement for signatures from 44 counties to 22 counties, and by requiring a two-thirds vote in the legislature for a period of five years to change or repeal an initiated statute. He said the second path would seek to reduce the use of constitutional amendments by increasing the signature requirement from ten to fifteen percent.

With the assistance of Mr. Steinglass, the committee discussed options to encourage the use of initiated statutes over the use of constitutional amendments.

Through a motion by Rep. Curtin, seconded by committee member Mark Wagoner, the committee unanimously voted (six to zero) to request that the Ohio Legislative Service Commission draft amendments that would reduce the geographic signature requirement from 44

counties to 22 counties, and would require a two-thirds vote from the legislature for a period of five years to change or repeal an initiated statute.

Adjournment:

With no further business to come before the committee, the meeting adjourned at 2:45 p.m.

Approval:

The minutes of the April 10, 2014 meeting of the Constitutional Revision and Updating Committee were approved at the May 8, 2014 meeting of the committee.

/s/ Dennis P. Mulvihill
Dennis P. Mulvihill, Chair

/s/ Charles F. Kurfess
Charles F. Kurfess, Vice-chair